Obligatory 2017 goals post

Yes, I said obligatory. You’ve probably heard more about resolutions than you really care about in the last few weeks. Whether it’s in your everyday life, fitness challenges at work, or your favorite blogger, everyone talks about big change at the new year. And that’s great! Take every opportunity to grow and change. Don’t stagnate. However, big resolutions don’t work for me. I get overwhelmed and frustrated with myself when I can’t see the result right away.

I’ve seen many different approaches to this. A friend of mine is making a resolution that touches each aspect of his life: spiritual, mental, physical. I’ve seen others set one large goal such as “I am going to lose 100 lbs” Other’s do more of a bucket-list approach rather than changes to make.

This year, I am going to set small goals and reachable achievements. I’m going to tell myself that it is ok if I don’t keep those goals and I’ll keep you all updated along the way (aren’t you lucky). I will have some larger goals to reach, but I’ll focus on the small steps to get to that point

So, without further ado, here are my goals for the first couple of weeks of 2017.

  1. Drink at least 64 fl oz of water a day. Drinks with caffeine or added sugar don’t count
  2. Work-out at least 30 minutes a day at least 3x per week
  3. Do a pull-up – I set up our pull-up bar and I’m trying one every time I pass it. I am also doing free weights and push-ups to build my strength
  4. Potentially run another half-marathon – see work-out goals above. I say potentially because my work time restraints may dictate this goal
  5. Pass the last part of my USMLE boards – I’ll be taking that test sometime this spring/summer. Time to start studying!
  6. Daily Bible study – I am currently using ifGathering. It’s an app for women with daily devotionals. It is very grounded in the Word
  7. Decrease screen time – I waste too much time on Facebook, pinterest, and TV. This has got to stop if I want to achieve my other goals

That’s all for now. I’ll be adding, editing, and updating on a semi-regular basis. Share your goals or resolutions with me. We can keep each other accountable to these goals and resolutions. Call them what you will. Let’s make 2017 a year for growth.

That’s it for now,

Beth

Leave a Reply

