Differences and similarities

This weekend was my parent’s 28th wedding anniversary. This past October was Cory’s parents 25th wedding anniversary. Cory and I are very lucky and thankful for 2 such strong examples of what marriage is to look like in a culture that too often condones divorce. This week I wanted to make some observations about what I think makes our parent’s relationships thrive.

My parents` and Cory’s parents` relationships look very, very different. My parent’s are very “Type A.” They are super competitive. Our house is noisy and slightly messy. My parents are openly affectionate with each other. My dad is a hopeless romantic (it’s true). My parent’s have worked in the same office for my entire life. My parent’s free time was very limited with 6 kids in multiple extracurriculars. Cory’s parents are as laid back as they come. They are quiet and very neat. They are not as outwardly affectionate to one another, but still very loving. Cory’s parents don’t work together, or even in the same field. Cory’s parents spend almost every evening together. Time together is a very meaningful.

Despite all these difference, I believe there are some fundamental commonalities. It is these commonalities that Cory and I wish to emulate as we forge our own, unique marriage.

Our parents communicate well. This looks different for each couple of course, but I believe that this is the best thing they can do/have done for their marriages. They are always on the same page when it comes to rules and big decisions. They keep each other informed. They speak with grace to each other even in the midst of disagreements.

They make time for themselves as a couple. Despite having 6 kids, my parent’s found time to be a couple. Cory’s parents just recently finished a 10 mile hike with each other. They are a united team when it comes to the world.

They laugh, a lot. My parent’s house is full of laughter often at silly things we kids have done. They don’t take things too seriously. I found out shortly after meeting Steve that “dad jokes” are universal. Patti still laughs even though I’m sure she’s heard these jokes ten thousand times.

They serve each other. My dad and mom set a great example of serving each other. They worked hard to make things easier for the other. Patti and Steve do the same. Patti makes dinner, Steve plants vegetables .

I’m sure there are many other wonderful aspects of their relationships. I am so thankful to be blessed with these examples.

That’s it for now,

Beth Goff

Leave a Reply

